PDA

View Full Version : win 98 won't install

ianm2
02-06-2007, 12:22 PM
hi I have a kosher copy of 98, and can't get it to install, I have 3 'old' hard drives, all of which are ok, and confirmed good by taking xp, but I can't seem to format them and get 98 loaded, I have to use 98, as I need a full dos thingy for running an older program.

Any ideas? what more info do you need,

none of the hd's will do it...hardware compatibility? I have done it b4, but this time it won't work.

One of them says insufficient memory, but I have 2gb of ram.

another says boot disc failure...

strangely, my cpu is reporting of having 128 mb of l1 cache, and 512 of l2, on the boot up/bios, its an amd s939, shouldn't the l1 and l2 be the same?...something doesn't seem quite right...

Can I put 98 on the existing HD that is running xp, do I need to partition it? I am new to multiple drives/partitioning, never done it b4.

how hard is it to get hard drives to simply have multiple sections for different installations and simply be able to select on demand...you would think that's easy enuff these days.

jonnyGURU
02-06-2007, 01:26 PM
If I remember correctly, hard drive formatting wasn't part of the install process until ME. Don't you have to format the drive with a 98 start up disk before you can actually install 98?

http://www.bootdisk.com

Spectre
02-06-2007, 06:45 PM
hi I have a kosher copy of 98, and can't get it to install, I have 3 'old' hard drives, all of which are ok, and confirmed good by taking xp, but I can't seem to format them and get 98 loaded, I have to use 98, as I need a full dos thingy for running an older program.

Any ideas? what more info do you need,

none of the hd's will do it...hardware compatibility? I have done it b4, but this time it won't work.

One of them says insufficient memory, but I have 2gb of ram.

another says boot disc failure...